Compagnie

2023 Sasha Waltz & Guests is celebrating its 30th anniversary: The company was founded by Sasha Waltz and Jochen Sandig in Berlin in 1993. To date, numerous artists and ensembles from the fields of architecture, visual arts, choreography, film, design, literature, fashion and music from more than 60 countries have collaborated as »Guests« on over 100 productions, »Dialoge« projects and films.


Sasha Waltz & Guests works in an international and national constantly evolving network of production and guest performance partners, and since its foundation in 1993 has performed at over 300 venues and festivals in more than 50 countries and 180 cities. Today, the company is showing its current repertoire of 12 active pieces in about 80 performances each year. In Berlin, the company cooperates with a wide range of municipal theatres, opera houses and museums and has contributed to the establishing of new cultural institutions such as Sophiensæle (1996), St. Elisabeth Kirche (2004) and Radialsystem (2006).


2013, the company has been named »European Cultural Ambassador« by the European Union. In 2014, Sasha Waltz & Guests was awarded the »george tabori ehrenpreis« by the Fonds Darstellende Künste.


Apart from Berlin stagings, national and international guest performances and the continual work on the repertoire, Sasha Waltz & Guests has been increasingly committed to educational and social projects. In 2007, the Children's and Youth Dance Company (»Kinder- und Jugendtanzcompany«) was founded and since 2016 the interdisciplinary and open exchange platform »ZUHÖREN« serves as a »third space for art and politics«. Alongside these initiatives, the company continues to propose diverse offers in the field of knowledge transfer.


With the work »In C«, based on Terry Riley's open composition of the same name, a system with an internationally growing community has been developing since spring 2021: the choreographic material was recorded in video tutorials to enable easy knowledge transfer. As a result, participatory, diverse, international and sustainable »In C« projects, workshop formats and ever new structures have emerged worldwide.


Sasha Waltz & Guests is funded by the Senate Department for Culture and Community.



Non-Discrimination Policy

The dance company Sasha Waltz & Guests and its artistic work are committed to a democratic, open and diverse society. We welcome open discussion and the sharing of different perspectives in our collaborative work and in our interactions with our audiences. We do not tolerate any discriminatory behaviour or statements based on ethnic background, nationality, religion, sexual or gender identity, physical or mental ability, age, language or social status.


Every person in Germany, regardless of their nationality, is protected from discrimination by the Basic Law (Article 3), the General Act on Equal Treatment (AGG) and additionally in Berlin, the Berlin State Anti-Discrimination Act (LADG). Everyone has the right to take action against discrimination on behalf of themselves or others.

Team

Office

Lisa Sziedat

Office and Travel Organisation

lsziedat@sashawaltz.de

+49 30 246280 20

Artistic Direction

Sasha Waltz

Jochen Sandig

Board of Directors / Management

Sasha Waltz

Jochen Sandig

Bärbel Kern

Reinhard Wizisla

Chief Financial Officer

Stephan Schmidt

Production

Bärbel Kern

Head of Artistic Planning and Production

bkern@sashawaltz.de

+49 30 24 62 80 27

Eleanor Salter

Artistic Production Management

esalter@sashawaltz.de

+49 30 24 62 80 27

Steffen Döring

Assistance Direction and Production Management

sdoering@sashawaltz.de

+49 30 24 62 80 27

Tour Management

Karsten Liske

Tour Management

kliske@sashawaltz.de

+49 30 24 62 80 20

Communication and Marketing

Stephanie Bender

Head of Communication and Marketing, Press and Media Relations

sbender@sashawaltz.de

+49 30 24 62 80 70

Sibah Pomplun

Public Relations and Marketing

spomplun@sashawaltz.de

+49 30 24 62 80 24

Kira Schmitz

Assistance Communication and Marketing

kschmitz@sashawaltz.de

+49-30-24 62 80 25

Mika Albrink

Social Media Management

Jasmin Falk

Social Media Management

Education & Community

Emilie Guérin

Direction Education & Community

eguerin@sashawaltz.de

+49 30 24 62 80 26

Sarah Potrafke 

Project Management Move Your Kiez – Spandau

spotrafke@sashawaltz.de

+49 30 24 62 80 26

Technic

Reinhard Wizisla

Technical Direction

rwizisla@sashawaltz.de

+49 30 24 62 80 53

Moritz Hauptvogel

Assistance Technical Direction

mhauptvogel@sashawaltz.de

+49 30 24 62 80 53

Martin Hauk

Light / Second Technical Direction

mhauk@sashawaltz.de
+49 30 24 62 80 33

Olaf Danilsen

Assistance Light

odanilsen@sashawaltz.de

​+49 30 24 62 80 33

Costume

Sandra Tiersch

Costume Direction

stiersch@sashawaltz.de

​+49 30 24 62 80 53

Nadja Herklotz

Assistance Costume

nherklotz@sashawaltz.de

+49 30 24 62 80 53

Informationstechnik

Dr. Kei Ishii

IT

Compagnie

Im Jahr 2023 feiert Sasha Waltz & Guests ihr 30jähriges Bestehen: Die Tanzcompagnie wurde 1993 von Sasha Waltz und Jochen Sandig in Berlin gegründet. Bis heute haben zahlreiche Künstler:innen und Ensembles aus Architektur, Bildender Kunst, Choreographie, Film, Design, Literatur, Mode und Musik aus mehr als 60 Ländern in über 100 Produktionen, »Dialoge«-Projekten und Filmen als »Guests« mitgewirkt.


Sasha Waltz & Guests arbeitet in einem internationalen und nationalen, sich ständig weiter entwickelnden Netz von Produktions- und Gastspielpartnern und war seit ihrer Gründung bereits an über 300 internationalen Aufführungsorten und Festivals in über 50 Ländern und 180 Städten zu erleben. Aus dem derzeit 12 aktive Produktionen umfassenden Repertoire zeigt die Compagnie ca. 80 Vorstellungen pro Jahr. In Berlin kooperiert die Compagnie mit einer großen Bandbreite von Einrichtungen wie Stadttheatern, Opernhäusern und Museen und hat zur Gründung neuer Kulturinstitutionen beigetragen (Sophiensæle 1996, St. Elisabeth Kirche 2004, Radialsystem 2006).


2013 wurde die Compagnie zum »Kulturbotschafter der Europäischen Union« ernannt. 2014 ehrte der Fonds Darstellende Künste Sasha Waltz & Guests mit dem »george tabori ehrenpreis«.


Neben dem Berliner Spielbetrieb, nationalen wie internationalen Gastspielen und der Repertoirepflege ist Sasha Waltz & Guests auch sehr aktiv im Bereich »Education & Community« – ausgehend von der 2007 gegründeten Kinder- und Jugendtanzcompany, der seit 2016 aktiven Plattform »ZUHÖREN – Dritter Raum für Kunst und Politik« und verschiedenen Angeboten im Bereich Wissenstransfer.


Mit der Arbeit »In C«, basierend auf Terry Rileys gleichnamiger und offener Komposition, entwickelt sich seit Frühjahr 2021 ein eigenes System mit international wachsender Community: Das choreographische Material wurde in Video-Tutorials festgehalten um einen einfachen Wissenstransfer zu ermöglichen. Dadurch entstanden und entstehen weltweit partizipative, diverse, internationale und nachhaltige »In C«-Projekte, Workshop-Formate und immer neue Strukturen.


Sasha Waltz & Guests wird gefördert von der Senatsverwaltung für Kultur und Gesellschaftlichen Zusammenhalt.


Antidiskriminierungsrichtlinie

Die Tanzcompagnie Sasha Waltz & Guests steht mit ihrer künstlerischen Arbeit für eine demokratische, offene und diverse Gesellschaft. Wir begrüßen in der gemeinsamen Arbeit und in der Begegnung mit unserem Publikum eine offene Diskussion und den Austausch verschiedener Perspektiven. Nicht akzeptiert werden dabei diskriminierende Handlungen und Äußerungen aufgrund ethnischer Herkunft, Staatsangehörigkeit, Religion, der sexuellen und geschlechtlichen Identität, einer körperlichen oder psychischen Disposition, des Lebensalters, der Sprache sowie des sozialen Status.


Unabhängig von ihrer Staatsangehörigkeit sind Menschen in Deutschland durch das Grundgesetzt (Artikel 3), das Allgemeine Gleichbehandlungsgesetz (AGG) und in Berlin zusätzlich durch das Berliner Landes-Antidiskriminierungsgesetz (LADG) vor Diskriminierung geschützt. Jede Person hat das Recht, für sich selbst oder andere gegen Diskriminierung aktiv zu werden.

Team

Sekretariat

Lisa Sziedat

Sekretariat und Reiseplanung

lsziedat@sashawaltz.de

+49 30 246280 20

Künstlerische Leitung

Sasha Waltz

Jochen Sandig

Direktion / Geschäftsführung

Sasha Waltz

Jochen Sandig

Bärbel Kern

Reinhard Wizisla

Kaufmännische Geschäftsführung

Stephan Schmidt

Produktion

Bärbel Kern

Leitung Künstlerische Planung und Produktion

bkern@sashawaltz.de

+49 30 24 62 80 27

Eleanor Salter

Künstlerische Produktionsleitung

esalter@sashawaltz.de

+49 30 24 62 80 27

Steffen Döring

Assistenz Regie und Produktion

sdoering@sashawaltz.de

+49 30 24 62 80 27

Tour Management

Karsten Liske

Tour Management

kliske@sashawaltz.de

+49 30 24 62 80 20

Kommunikation und Marketing

Stephanie Bender

Leitung Kommunikation und Marketing, Presse- und Medienarbeit

sbender@sashawaltz.de

+49 30 24 62 80 70

Sibah Pomplun

Öffentlichkeitsarbeit und Marketing

spomplun@sashawaltz.de

+49 30 24 62 80 24

Kira Schmitz

Assistenz Kommunikation und Marketing 

kschmitz@sashawaltz.de

+49-30-24 62 80 25

Mika Albrink

Social Media Management

Jasmin Falk

Social Media Management

Education & Community

Emilie Guérin

Leitung Education & Community

eguerin@sashawaltz.de

+49 30 24 62 80 26

Sarah Potrafke 

Projektleitung Move Your Kiez – Spandau

spotrafke@sashawaltz.de

+49 30 24 62 80 26

Technik

Reinhard Wizisla

Technische Leitung

rwizisla@sashawaltz.de

+49 30 24 62 80 53

Moritz Hauptvogel

Assistenz Technische Leitung

mhauptvogel@sashawaltz.de

+49 30 24 62 80 53

Martin Hauk

Licht / Stellvertretung Technische Leitung

mhauk@sashawaltz.de
+49 30 24 62 80 33

Olaf Danilsen

Assistenz Licht

odanilsen@sashawaltz.de

​+49 30 24 62 80 33

Kostüm

Sandra Tiersch

Leitung Kostüm

stiersch@sashawaltz.de

​+49 30 24 62 80 53

Nadja Herklotz

Assistenz Kostüm

nherklotz@sashawaltz.de

+49 30 24 62 80 53

Informationstechnik

Dr. Kei Ishii

IT