SYM-PHONIE MMXX on tour for the first time

»SYM-PHONIE MMXX«, a piece for dance, light and orchestra by Sasha Waltz and Georg Friedrich Haas, received its world premiere on March 13th 2022 at Staatsoper Unter den Linden in Berlin and will go on tour for the first time October 7th and 8th to the 26th International Ballet Festival in Lodz.

»SYM-PHONIE MMXX« is a commissioned work by the renowned composer Georg Friedrich Haas and is his first official stage work for dance after numerous operas.

Georg Friedrich Haas is one of the most successful composers of contemporary music. His success is due in part to having dedicated himself to the utopian idea – »unattainable in hundred percent perfection« – of creating a new music that is both expressive and soothing – not despite of its newness, but precisely because it is new.

In SYM-PHONIE MMXX I want to shape the extreme experience of our reality and create a contemporary genre painting.

Sasha Waltz

The production’s concept, in the best tradition of dance history, is based on the inspiring encounter of the arts and has been declared the artistic guideline: music, dance and visual arts are transformed by Sasha Waltz and her artistic team into a full-length work. Thus creating a piece of clamorous silence and eruptive energy.

A coproduction between Sasha Waltz & Guests and Staatsballett Berlin.

for dance, light and orchestra
Choreography by Sasha Waltz
Music by Georg Friedrich Haas (commisioned work)
7th 8th October 2022
26th Lodz Ballett Festival
Teatr Wielki in Lodz
Tickets and further information

Concept, Direction and Choreography
Sasha Waltz
Georg Friedrich Haas

Stage Design
Pia Maier Schriever
Costume Design
Bernd Skodzig
Light Design
David Finn

Dance / Choreography
Sebastian Abarbanell
Blenard Azizaj
Jirí Bartovanec
Anne Brinon
Rosa Dicuonzo
Edivaldo Ernesto
Melissa Figueiredo
Yuya Fujinami
Tian Gao
Eva Georgitsopoulou
Hwanhee Hwang
Agnieszka Jachym
Lorena Justribó Manion
Kelvin Kilonzo
Annapaola Leso
Jaan Männima
Sean Nederlof
Virgis Puodziunas
Zaratiana Randrianantenaina
Joel Suárez Gómez
Ichiro Sugae