ZUHÖREN: Continu

With »ZUHÖREN«, Sasha Waltz & Guests opens up a »third dimension for encounters« for art, culture and journalism from February 3-9. The program starts out from the expressive dance piece »Continu« (2010), which is about violence, the individual and the group. In view of the current situation concerning the need for asylum and civil society engagement, Sasha Waltz will host encounters and conversations with various notable persons. What artistic strategies do we have at our disposal to exert political influence? Exemplary projects from Berlin present their work. Advance ticket sales have already begun!

Continu, Sasha Waltz, (c) Tanja Dorendorf

Sasha Waltz
(c) Tanja Dorendorf

Sasha Waltz
Radialsystem V

»Continu« (2010) for 21 dancers can be considered Sasha Waltz’ most expressive work.
The epochal orchestral work »Arcana« (1927) by Edgard Varèse represents its musical core. Thematically, »Continu« showcases the conflictual relationship between individuals and a group or society. In light of the recent events and experiences concerning flight, migration and the diversity of cultural identities, new ways of perceiving this piece unfold.

Direction and Choreography: Sasha Waltz
Music: Edgar Varèse, Iannis Xenakis, Claude Vivier, Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
Percussion: Robyn Schulkowksy
Stage Design: Thomas Schenk, Pia Maier Schriever, Sasha Waltz
Light: Martin Hauk
Costumes: Bernd Skodzig
Dramaturgy: Jochen Sandig
Dance und Choreography: Liza Alpízar Aguilar, Blenard Azizaj, Jirí Bartovanec, Davide Camplani, Maria Marta Colusi, Luc Dunberry, Juan Kruz Diaz de Garaio Esnaola, Delphine Gaborit, Maya Gomez, Hwanhee Hwang, Florencia Lamarca, Sergiu Matis, Thomas Michaux, Michal Mualem, Virgis Puodziunas, Sasa Queliz, Zaratiana Randrianantenaina, Orlando Rodriguez, Mata Sakka, Joel Suárez Gómez, Idan Yoav
Repetition: Virgis Puodziunas

Iannis Xenakis (1922-2001)
Concret PH 1958
Rebonds B 1989, (live by Robyn Schulkowsky)
Edgar Varèse (1883-1965)
Arcana 1927
Hyperprism 1923
Ionisation 1929-1931
Claude Vivier (1948-1983)
Zipangu für 13 Streicher 1980
Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart (1756-1791)
Oboe Quartett, KV 370, 2. Adagio

A production of Sasha Waltz & Guests in collaboration with Schauspielhaus Zürich/Zürcher Festspiele, spielzeit’europa|Berliner Festspiele and Sadler’s Wells London.
Supported by Radial Stiftung. Made in RadialsystemÒ. Sasha Waltz & Guests is supported by Hauptstadtkulturfonds and Land Berlin.

Tickets: 17€ | 29€ | 37€ | 47€, incl. 5€ for food and tea | reduced 16€
030 – 288 788 588

Ablaufplan ZUHÖREN Continu und Gespräche